Here’s to 2024 morel hunt season

When you hit older age and your body just don’t seem to work like it used to, the walking distances you can safely travel get shorter and shorter. I face this each year. The distances have gotten further with average days being between 6 miles and 8 miles of walking / hiking. Trying to maintain the “don’t show people your spots” morel hunting rule gets harder because you never know when you’re just not quite going to make it back to the vehicle.

All the above being said, most of the new generation do not want to experience an all day morel hunt so that in itself makes it hard to pass along the knowledge I’ve collected over years and years of hunting, plus any knowledge that has been taught to me. I did the “go it alone” for most of the year. Truth be told, most of the time I really pushed to get back.

Traditionally, it’s mostly family that receives the “secret spots” and the knowledge so here’s praying that one of them becomes interested so much that they finally go! I’m not trying to force anything, when someone doesn’t have interest, it’s totally understandable.

I’ll try getting back into posting this season and maybe some of you can enjoy reading!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Here’s to 2024 morel hunt season”

  1. Dwayne Mentzer Says:

    It was such a nice day yesterday. After work, I got out my ebike and rode 11 miles, making sure I got some pedaling in for a little exercise. Here’s to hoping I keep getting it out to be prepared for all the morel hikes coming up!

Leave a comment